If you’re anything like me, you got into reading fantasy when you were 18 years old, you fell in love with Edward Cullen in Twilight and thought no other human male could compare. Then you quickly jumped into Hunger Games to only be bored at the end of the series and inevitably give up entirely. Then you went 15 years without reading fantasy to only listen to self-improvement podcasts or books on spirituality and nutrition.

Ok ok, maybe the latter half wasn’t your experience. But if you fell in love with fantasy to only forget about it for almost half your life, well you my friend are in one hell of a treat. And that treat is called A Court of Thorns & Roses. It’s a series of 5 books filled with incredible twists and turns, heart-throbbing romance, stunning worlds, and yes, some absolutely lovely lovely sex scenes.

Now let me set the stage for you so you can know what you’re have in store. The main character Feyre is mortal who is living a life of complete poverty with her 2 sisters and father. She is left to fend for her family by hunting and simply surviving. That survival takes her to a moment with an immortal that will change her life forever, where she has to choose between living in the mortal world with her family or braving the unknown immortal world, filled with beings that fill our nightmares and could kill us in an instant.

Without giving anything away, I want to quickly walk through what to expect in each book, especially since some books may feel a little slow, but I want you to know that it’s completely worth sticking with.

Purchase The Series Here

Book 1 – A Court of Thorns & Roses:

This book starts out on the slower side, but it’s really helping you get a visual for what the mortal and immortal lands look like, the division between them, and it’s also showing you an immense image of how the main character starts off compared to how she develops with each book. As slow as it may feel, it’s worth really taking your time to take in every moment, and just know that it ends with a BANG. One hell of a bang.

Book 2 – A Court of Mist & Fury:

Now this is when the series picks up and sends you to the moon. I still think of chapters in this book almost daily. I’m not even joking. The author, Sarah J Maas, does the most incredible job of bringing moments back from book 1 that you didn’t even think were important. Buckle up and know that your romantic heart will absolutely explode in this book.

Book 3 – A Court of Wings & Ruin:

The third book is one hell of a fun ride, especially if you love new characters, stunning landscapes that you get to create in your own mind with her descriptive word choices, spooky creatures that make your skin crawl, and if you love war (that sounds weird). This is a fantastic book that you’ll never want to put down.

Book 4 – A Court of Frost & Starlight:

Ok I’m not going to lie, I hated this book. It’s definitely a novella that feels very much like a Christmas movie. It’s filled with snowball fights, questions about finding the perfect present, and that’s about it. BUT it’s very short so it’s easy to get through and it definitely has some important pieces that cannot be missed so don’t skip it! But also, I just listened to the audiobook because it’s a super quick listen!

Book 5 – A Court of Silver Flames:

This book is my Roman Empire. Just like the second book, this is another book I think about DAILY. Like, nonstop. And I’m going to be honest here…it’s because the sex scenes are epic. I even have the pages tagged so I can go back and re-read them. The fierce love, character development, and stories are all so exciting throughout the entire book. My favorite characters in the whole series are in this book and I couldn’t get enough of their story.

After not reading fantasy for 15+ years, ACOTAR has made me fall head first into the thrill and obsession that comes with these stories. And these stories have brought me back to life. I’ve read 13 books in two months and have no plans to stop any time soon. The author, Sarah J Maas, has reminded me how much I love to read, with her incredible mind that she’s so gracefully able to put into words.

After having our daughter over a year and a half ago, I’ve been finding myself all over again and who I am now during this new chapter of life. I’ve missed the playful side of me, the side of me that didn’t think too hard about things and went with the flow. And reading these books has lit something inside of me that helps me feel free again. I can escape to a world filled with magic and that magic has translated into my own life. Not only is my love life better with my husband, but I’m happier every single day. All because of reading these fantasy books.

If I could get you to do one thing this year, it would be to read these books. I want you to feel the excitement, the romance, the humanity, and the spark of joy that these books ignite in you with each chapter. I hope that you read these and the books take you on a ride you never saw coming!

Cheers to many book reviews ahead since I’m only getting started!

Purchase The Series Here

You May Also Like:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 Comment

  1. Ashley says:

    So glad you’re finally on Fourth Wing now! I liked ACOTAR but wasn’t a huge fan of her writing style so I could be biased, but I liked Fourth Wing and Iron Flame so much better. The wait for book three is pure torture!